Building and Bugs

For this week I jumped head first into building. The team and I had a work session together for 5-6 hours. I started working on the first iteration of the city levels. As I started I ran into a few issues right off the bat. First off I had to create some tools for myself and the team to use. In order for our building scenes to run correctly there are certain assets, scripts, and presets we need to have set in them. In the past we would just take an old scene that has all this done already and get rid of all the bits we weren’t using for the new level. This is sort of a rough and bad way of going about it. So I created a prefab or blank scene with all the necessary components. Then I went and create prefabs of different asset pieces with special scripts on them that would be used by everyone. Once I had completed that I got to the actual building. As I had mentioned before I had done drawings of ideas for different parts of the level. But as I was beginning to build I realized that my levels would be somewhat different than the other zones. Since my zone was in a derelict city with spaces wide open (where as the others are underground or inside a building) the placement of the platforms/corridors/and mechanic pieces had to sort of make contextual sense. In my mind, it would be weird to have random floating platforms or assets place in weird places in a city-like setting. So I sort of had to build and rebuild to make the level feel like a city and not just a platforming space.

It will be interesting to see how my levels turn out but it is fun to race through the levels that you have created.

Leave a comment